forward, presenting the

work of the WIM ExCom

and its five expert


04 / 11 / 2021
Video credit: UN Climate Change / UNFCCC

In this COP26 side event the UNFCCC presented the work of the The Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage (WIM) and its five expert groups: The Expert group on slow onset events; The Expert group on non-economic losses; The Technical Expert Group on Comprehensive Risk Management; The Task Force on Displacement; The Expert group on action and support.

Speakers include: Le-Anne Roper (WIM ExCom, Jamaica),  Courtenay Rattray (UN High Representative for Least Developed, Landlocked Countries, Small Island Developing States), Dr Heike Henn (Director for Climate Policy, Energy, Urban Development and Environment and Commissioner for climate policy and climate financing at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development), H.E. Dr. Tandi Dorji (Minister of Foreign affairs and chair of National Environment Commission Bhutan), Pepetua Latasi (Co-Chair of the Taskforce on Displacement), Adao Soares Barbosa (Chair of the The Expert group on non-economic losses), Penehuro Lefale (Member of the Expert group on slow onset events), Jelena Milos (Member of the Expert group on action and support).

The event ends with interventions from experts including from Harjeet Singh (CAN-International) and Professor Maarten van Aalst (IFRC).